OAPEC Development

Abu Dhabi, now the capital of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Algeria, Bahrain and Qatar were admitted to the organization during an extraordinary ministerial board meeting on May 24, 1970 (1390 AH), as a direct result of this amendment to Article 7.

Another group of new member states, Egypt, Iraq and Syria, joined the organization during 1972 (1391/92 AH). Both Iraq and Syria became full members during 1972 (1391/92 AH), but, because of the late deposition of Egypt's ratification documents at the Kuwaiti Foreign Ministry, Egypt did not officially become a member of OAPEC until 1973 (1392/93 AH).

Related Items
See also:

Main reference point:


Profile of Saudi Arabia

The Country Profile contains thousands of pages of information on every aspect of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, including its geography, history and development (political, economic and social).