Administrative Regions of the Kingdom

For administrative purposes, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia is divided into 13 regions. Below, we list the regions and the cities in which the administrative headquarters of each region are located.


Each of these regions has a Regional Governor with the rank of Minister who is responsible to the Minister of the Interior. The structure of regional government and the composition of the regional governing bodies and regional councils is clear evidence of the Kingdom's determination to increase the involvement of the citizenry in the government of Saudi Arabia while maintaining stability and continuity.

Related Items
Main reference point:


Profile of Saudi Arabia

The Country Profile contains thousands of pages of information on every aspect of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, including its geography, history and development (political, economic and social).